Chapatis a la Alisea

We ran out of yeast last week. I baked some delicious buns.. my best yet, if I do say so myself. So this week, because we had no bread left, and no yeast with which to make it, I decided to use a recipe for some flat bread I have in a bread book.
The recipe is for chapatis, which is a flat bread from India.

yum yum yum in my tum tum tum!!

 

Believe it or not, I actually made the ones in that picture up there! And it was absolutely delicious!

The recipe makes 12 pieces of bread, and it’s super easy!

2 cups Flour

1/2 tsp salt (recipe in the book said it’s optional)

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/2 to 3/4 cups water

clarified butter as needed ( I used regular unsalted butter for one batch, and olive oil instead for another batch. It’s just for cooking)

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, salt and vegetable oil with your fingers, so that the oil is evenly distributed throughout. Add 1/2 cup water and knead the mix in the bowl to form a solid mass. If it’s too crumbly, then add water 1 tbsp at a time until it is the right consistency. Transfer to a lightly oiled surface and knead until dough is stiff but smooth like stiff pizza dough. Form into a ball and divide into 12 equal portions. (I cut it in half and did 6 pieces from that) Work on 3 portions at a time and keep the unworked portions covered to prevent drying out. Press the ball you are working on into a disc, and roll out on a lightly floured board to about 6 inches in diameter.

Heat a heavy skillet over medium heat( I put a little bit of oil/butter in the pan, too, but it doesn’t say to do so in the recipe). Cook on the first side for 30  seconds, flip and cook on second side for 30 seconds as well. Turn over once more and press down lightly on the surface, the bread should swell . Turn again till lightly browned on both sides.

 

I made them last night for dinner, and Will told me how to make a veggie burrito-type filling to go with it.

I chopped a potato, a large carrot, and some green beans into small cubes. Fry the potatoes in a large pan on Medium head until they’re just a bit tender, then throw in the carrot. After about 2 or 3 minutes put the green beans in. I also diced some onion and threw that in as an afterthought.  After the onion had been sauteed a little bit, I added in a chicken bouillon and 3 cups water. While that cooks down, open a can of beans (I used black beans) and rinse them really well. Add the beans when there is just a bit of liquid barely covering the rest of the mix and add some taco seasoning. The beans help soak up some of the extra liquid. Soon it will be a yummy burrito filling for your chapatis.

You can add whatever veggies you have on hand, I think it would be really good with some corn.

burrito filling and leftover rice

Today I mixed what little there was of the filling and some leftover rice. I don’t have a microwave, so I put them together in a pan with a tablespoon of water and a bit of butter, and it turned out pretty good.

deee-licious

 

I also have a thrift-store haul from a few weeks ago.. it cost me 8 bucks and some change.

lotsa stuff!

not pictured here is a small leather bustier/top that was only $1!!!!! all because it didn’t have any buttons.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

