Different Beliefs, Different Destinations

I have been wanting to write a post for a while but I’ve been quite distracted and I never knew what to write about until something happened today. Some people tried to convert me on my way back to work from my lunch break.

I don’t know how well you know me, but it’s things like this that really ‘get my goat,’ so to speak.  For starters, I’m not a big fan of organized religion, secondly  I hate when they talk at me and try to convert me, and thirdly: I Hate advertising. Hate with a capital H.

La tee da, walking to work.. I notice across the street there are a couple girls and we make eye contact, they had the body language that indicated they wanted to talk to me. I’m fine with that.. maybe they just needed directions or something. Nopers. They said something about being students and wanted to make a video for homework and right then I let them know I have to get to work because I’m running late. Of course I met the only two people who DON’T CARE! They go on to ask whether I know about the holy mother god or something like that and I’m all like, “you mean Mary?” but apparently these ones actually believe that god is a man and woman at the same time.. at least it’s a bit progressive I suppose… anyways.. they keep trying to convince me that I should be their version of christianity and that the passover is the most important thing in the world if I don’t want to die in the apocalypse and go to hell. She tried to get my contact information.. ugh.. I just told her if I was interested, I’d look them up.

I don’t think that people should walk around approaching random people who are just trying to enjoy life , peddling their  beliefs.

It got me thinking about what I do believe and what I don’t. I know I might believe some crazy stuff, but I’m not shoving it down anyone’s throat. If you don’t want to read what I believe you can just go to another web page or turn off your computer.

I don’t believe that a book that says it’s the truth is indeed true if its only proof of that is itself. That’s just crazy talk. You wouldn’t be able to defend anything else on that basis… unless you are absolutely non-scientific. Then you could just believe anything the tv tells you or anything the internet tells you.

I don’t believe that anyone should (or can) be condemned because of a lack of belief in a particular godly entity.

I don’t believe in a god… and if there is one or more god then I don’t really think that it cares about humans.. we’re kind of shitty. If it is interested in us, it’s probably just for the Jerry Springer aspect of humanity. To witness the trainwreck and see how it happens and maybe throw in a few things to liven up the situation a bit.

I don’t believe in heaven or hell. That being said, I do believe in an ‘afterlife’ in a sense.. Energy is neither created or destroyed and I believe that people have an energy that is, for lack of a better word, “dispersed” and we go into the ether or whatever. This also brings up for me a belief that we make our own sort of afterlife depending on what sort of energy we have. If a genuinely happy and satisfied person dies, I think that energy will be as such and have a good dispersement. If someone is down and dreary and feels guilty about every mistake they possibly make (ie, Any religion that says you’ll go to hell because of doing something or being sinful) then their energy isn’t good and it’s just not so fun for them. Basically, if you believe you’re going to hell you’re gonna send yourself there.

Stark was one of my favorite characters on Farscape.. although I don’t know how I can really say he was a favorite because that applies to all of the characters except maybe Jool. In an episode Stark is asked by a person where they’ll go after they die, and he says “different beliefs, different destinations.” I think that’s the gist of what I’m trying to say. If some bloke honestly thinks he’s going to heaven to be with 40 virgins and he’s not negative in the way he lives his life and his head is filled with happy thoughts, then for him it’ll be 40 virgins.

In connection to my belief about human energy (souls perhaps?) I tend to believe in reincarnation. Energy travels through the universe and is transfered into different objects, and I think that souls probably do the same thing. I don’t really think entire personalities are embedded in a soul, but the energy is the essence of what you are. Good energy, bad energy, medium energy.

I may have some crazy beliefs, and if I encounter hard proof that disputes them, then I’ll probably change, but not because of some douchebag on the street telling me that I’m a sinner and I need to repent.

5 thoughts on “Different Beliefs, Different Destinations

  1. Wow… that’s quite an annoyance… I hate when that happens. I’m interested in other religions, but I don’t want it shoved down my throat or be told that I’m a sinner. Personally, those of the buddhist beliefs I think are right for me. I’ve read like 5 books “how to be buddhist” (essentially) and I really agree with most of what they say.

    I like how you at least believe in reincarnation.

    Also, on a side note, if there was a god, I dont think he’d pick on people of different religions. I think he’d accept us for who were were just as long as we tried to live our life being a good person. These are things I often think aboot… hahaha

    1. yeah, society has come far enough that if I am interested in another religion, I can google it.
      Buddhism is pretty sweet. I like a lot of the things they believe in, and it seems to be more like a way of life than something you can become really obnoxious about.
      I agree on your thoughts about a god. I think when I wrote this blog I was a bit angry and that came out in how I wrote about god, but I don’t think a god would make you a certain way and then want to make you feel bad for being like that.

  2. Hey! I didnt know that you were another defector from the family faith. I like the idea of energy and I also like the idea of a collective intelligence (all life) that is still working its shit out. And I love the idea of reincarnation – I hope that’s what happens though wouldnt say that I believe that it is. 🙂

    It’s cool that you are writing. I think about creating my own blog but it hasnt happened yet. You’re awesome!

    xoxoyourcousinkalamity

    1. yeah.. I like the idea of reincarnation, I think it has about as much likelihood of being correct as lots of other beliefs. I like it so I choose to believe it.
      I think you would make a cool blog. You have so many interesting things to say, you should totally do it! you don’t necessarily have to blog every day or anything, but I find it to be a very good way to vent every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

