Tumblr Thoughts.

so, I saw this post on tumblr… as I have been known to do. And I had thoughts I figured might be relevant to what I tend to blog about on this facet of my online life.

Here is the thing.

kaz-terborosherlock: spazztastic-muffin: blessyoushiva: blackghostriolus: this is westboro baptist churches good twin I’m really glad that this picture is circulating tumblr. Young adults today often forget that Christianity isn’t evil. Just like Muslims aren’t evil. It’s the extremists that give the entire religion a bad name. Please stop making assumptions that Christians are hateful, narrow minded people. My mom is very religious and she is one of the most open minded, loving people I know. YES THANK YOU Same thing about Atheists. I hate to be *that* person. But I have problems with this on a few levels. With regards to the actual picture, I suppose I sort of appreciate the sentiment that a church actually has advertised that atheists can be good people. I hate the patronizing tone. Atheists don’t need the approval of god or that sort of motivation to be a good and moral person. Big whoop! It doesn’t take a fucking rocket scientist to realize that there are good and bad people irrespective of religious affiliation. The other problems I have are just technicalities, I suppose. Christianity is a religion. Muslims are people. They aren’t really directly comparable. I don’t think anyone would deny that there are good Christians, Muslims and atheists, but there certainly are evil ones. That’s a reflection on individuals, not the religion. If it takes religion for someone to be a moral person, then that’s just sad. I’ve known nice people from a variety of religions but it’s no judgement of them when I say that their religion is a crock of shit.  My mother is a nice woman and a Christian, but I don’t let  that pull the wool over my eyes with respect to the tremendous harm religiously inspired beliefs have done in my life and countless others.

atheistbs

“I’m really glad that this picture is circulating tumblr. Young adults today often forget that Christianity isn’t evil. Just like Muslims aren’t evil. It’s the extremists that give the entire religion a bad name. Please stop making assumptions that Christians are hateful, narrow minded people. My mom is very religious and she is one of the most open minded, loving people I know.”

atheistbsresponse

My response: “I hate to be *that* person. But I have problems with this on a few levels. With regards to the actual picture, I suppose I sort of appreciate the sentiment that a church actually has advertised that atheists can be good people. I hate the patronizing tone. Atheists don’t need the approval of god or that sort of motivation to be a good and moral person. Big whoop! It doesn’t take a fucking rocket scientist to realize that there are good and bad people irrespective of religious affiliation.

The other problems I have are just technicalities, I suppose. Christianity is a religion. Muslims are people. They aren’t really directly comparable. I don’t think anyone would deny that there are good Christians, Muslims and atheists, but there certainly are evil ones. That’s a reflection on individuals, not the religion. If it takes religion for someone to be a moral person, then that’s just sad. I’ve known nice people from a variety of religions but it’s no judgement of them when I say that their religion is a crock of shit.

My mother is a nice woman and a Christian, but I don’t let that pull the wool over my eyes with respect to the tremendous harm religiously inspired beliefs have done in my life and countless others.”

I also think I might have been able to mention the “no true Scotsman” fallacy. By saying that their mother is “very religious and she is one of the most open minded, loving people” it’s suggested that this is what a “true Christian” is like, and that anyone who isn’t these things isn’t really a Christian (or the “right” kind of Christian).

Also, I have to say that just because they have one example of a good Christian, it does not necessarily follow that the millions of other Christians in the world are anything like that. (not to mention that it’s their own mother, so the likelihood of experiencing the loving side of that person is significantly higher and may not be representative of their treatment of other people)

Any thoughts? Was I just being super nitpicky?

Leave a Reply

